Mako (ft. Ben Soundscape)



Dispatch Release Date – 28/11/2022
General Release – 09/12/2022

Dispatch Dubplate makes its long-awaited return with the first of six new releases, brought to you by Mako – including a collab with Ben Soundscape.

Setting out to champion the best in unreleased music and those tunes which have been long cherished dubs by prominent figures within the dnb community, Dispatch Dubplate returns after an almost two-year break with this special release from Mako.

Heading up the release is “The Man”, a tune that Ant TC1 has been playing for years and could never put down. One that prompted constant ID requests from DJs and ravers alike, this tune fully represents the Dispatch Dubplate ethos due to the mystery and hype surrounding the track. Originally made as an experiment, with Mako wanting to focus on crusty-sounding production with no mid-bass or prominent fog horns – it’s a back-to-basic track that celebrates the raw energy of drum and bass. After much email wrangling and WhatsApp-based arm-twisting, we’re pleased to finally get this stand-out track out there.

The Dispatch Dubplate series makes vinyl the focus, and each release features an exclusive track that will never be sold digitally. “Mission Critical” champions our favourite format on this release with a loop-based roller dreamt up on a hazy, stoned day. Originally forgotten about by Mako himself, this one was championed by Mikal (and Ant of course) and has now found its way out there thanks to Mik’s love and appreciation.

Completing the release is a collab with Ben Soundscape, Mako’s personal favourite of the three. Utilising some drums from another tune called “Tell Me Something” released by Mako on Metalheadz, the pair set out to make something new. Originally signed by the late, great, Marcus Intalex for Soul:R it was eventually swapped out for a different tune of Mako’s – this makes it another perfect fit for Dispatch Dubplate, given the love and following it created during live sets but never saw the light of day (until now).

A welcome return to this fabled series, watch this space for more.

Available in limited edition heavyweight 12″ vinyl including a vinyl exclusive track.

A. Mako – “The Man”

B1. Mako – “Mission Critical” [VINYL EXCLUSIVE].

B2. Mako & Ben Soundscape – “He’s Out There”

The Digital version of this release includes just two tracks, the vinyl exclusive track will not be available to download.


The first 50 copies sold across the Dispatch Stores will include a Holographic Dispatch Logo Sticker and a Mirrored Dispatch Logo Sticker, on top of the limited edition Holographic Dispatch Dubplate sticker.

• Bonus Limited Edition Holographic sticker 12 x 3cm
• 180g vinyl (heavier and thicker than standard releases)
• Limited to 300 full-release copies.
• The artist and track information is left completely blank for you to choose to write on the inner vinyl label sticker or not
• Kraft card outside sleeve with sleeves holes on both sides
(no artwork but will be ‘stamped’ with a Dispatch Recordings label black ink stamp)
• Additional thick plastic outer protection sleeve
• Individually and uniquely numbered per vinyl
• No re-press (ever)
• Vinyl copies sold in this store include a free 320kbps mp3 or wav files of the release (excludes the vinyl exclusive track)